Our Center was founded in 2001 in response to a renewed desire for easier river access in the region and to better understand our past. The Center provides a home to artifacts from our recent and ancient past and provides a gathering place for those wanting to learn more about our local history and natural resources.


Our mission is to promote and conserve the rich history of the Lower Susquehanna River Valley through education, preservation, and restoration; and to increase public awareness of its archeological and historical resources, features and buildings, and their unique inter-relationship with and access to the local ecological systems.


The Blue Rock Heritage Center is administered by the Washington Boro Society for Susquehanna River Heritage and is a registered 501(c)(3) non-profit organization operated by volunteers.


In 2018, we began renovation on The Witmer Barn. Eventually, this building will enhance and extend our capabilities for events and displays. The barn (1856) is less than 50 yards from the mill (1832) where our displays are presented and meetings are held. 


Debbie Saylor, Curator

Charles Douts, President

Blue Rock Heritage Center

2251 River Road

Post Office Box 6

Washington Boro, PA 17582


Blue Rock Heritage Center

Admission is free.

Donations are appreciated.

Open by appointment for

large groups.